Programme Overview

Course Description

Intensive one-week course from Monday to Friday. Lectures, computer aided exercises, industrial case studies and workshops will be provided by local and invited lecturers from academia and industry.

The Marine Biotechnology Summer School will address gaps such as: developing innovative uses of underutilised and waste material from fisheries and aquaculture to achieve zero waste; using biotechnology and information technology to develop smart, efficient, traceable food systems and create synergies between aquaculture and fisheries; unlocking the potential of microbiomes in aquaculture, fisheries, food processing and biotechnology; applying the latest developments in data mining (machine learning, big data) to the Blue Bioeconomy; creating predictive tools to improve the identification and targeting of biodiversity “hot-spots” in the oceans (-omics based technologies); exploring synergies with land-based production in areas such as food and feed processing, biomaterials, chemicals and nutrients and including waste streams from aquatic to terrestrial value chains; improving aquaculture and fisheries by using biotechnology to create innovative feeds, new chemical compounds to be implemented in the pharmaceutical industry.

Download the Flyer here

Major Topics

  1. Biomolecules and pharmaceuticals
  2. Biomaterials
  3. Bioremediation
  4. Use of fishery discards as raw materials
  5. Aquaculture
  6. Marine litter
  7. Reducing, reuse, and recycling to achieve circular economy

Practical courses

  1. From samples to molecules (Institute of Protein Biochemistry)
  2. A long experience in marine ecology (Stazione Zoologica Anthon Dorn)

Confirmed lecturers

  • Gercende Curtois de Viscose (University of Gran Canaria, ES)
  • Adriana De Lucia (ARTERRA, Naples, I)
  • Chiara Lauritano (SZN "Anthon Dohrn", Naples, I)
  • Antonella Leone (ISPA-CNR, Lecce, I)
  • Marina Lotti (University Milano-Bicocca, I)
  • Patrizio Mariani (DTU, Copenhagen, DK)
  • Clementina Sansone (SZN "Anthon Dohrn", Naples,I)
  • Ranghild Wittaker (NOFIMA - Oslo, NO)